Access East Board of Directors

The governing board for the nonprofit Access East, Inc. is comprised of representatives from our network of community health partners across eastern North Carolina, including our partner ECU Health and other regional hospitals; independent physicians; public-health departments; Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) like The James D. Bernstein Community Health Center, its building owned by Access East; social services organizations; and mental health agencies from across Eastern North Carolina.


  • Dan Drake, PhD-Nursing Science, MSN, BSN | Chair
    President, ECU Health Physicians, Greenville
  • William R. Hayes, PhD-Nursing Science, MSN, BSN | Vice-Chair
    Vice President, Managed Care & Credentialing, ECU Health, Greenville
  • Brian Dunn, MSA | Treasurer
    Senior Vice President, Financial Services, ECU Health, Greenville
  • Tina Dixon, MPA, BSPH | Secretary
    Vice President, Access East Healthy Opportunities Pilot (HOP), Greenville


  • Mott Blair, MD
    Physician, ECU Health Physicians Family Medicine, Wallace
    Regional Medical Director, ECU Health Physicians, Greenville
    Medical Director, Vidant Integrated Care (ECU Health), Greenville
  • Jay Briley, MHA, FACHE
    President, ECU Health Medical Center, Greenville
  • Wes Gray, MPA, MPH, MAS
    Health Director, Pitt County Health Department, Greenville
  • Kimberly Hardy, DNP, FNP-BC, NEA-BC
    Former Public Health Director of Nursing (recently retired), Pitt County Health Department, Greenville
  • Michael Lang, MD, FACP, DFAPA | At-Large  Executive Committee Member
    ECU Health Medical Center, Greenville:
    ♦  Chief of Service, Psychiatry
    ♦  Director, Electroconvulsive Therapy and Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation Programs
    East Carolina University, Greenville:
    ♦  Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry, Departments of Psychiatry and Internal Medicine
    ♦  Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine
    ♦  Program Director, Internal Medicine/Psychiatry Residency Program
    ♦  Director, Electroconvulsive Therapy and Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation Programs
  • Yvonne Long-Gee
    CEO, Rural Health Group, Roanoke Rapids

Ex-officio Member

  • Michael Waldrum, MD, MSc, MBA
    Chief Executive Officer, ECU Health, Greenville
    Dean, Brody School of Medicine at ECU, Greenville